DACA revoked worrying students

The DACA program being revoked has been one of the main subjects being talked about on the CSUB campus. A lot of CSUB students are being greatly affected by the cancellation of this program. DACA was revoked on September 5, 2018. DACA stands for “Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals” and it was a program that allowed individuals who entered the country as minors to receive a renewable two-year period of deferred action from getting deported and having the opportunity of being able to work and go to school.

All around campus students are speaking about it and most of what is being talked about is people being disappointed in President Trump for cancelling DACA.

I recently spoke to a CSUB student, Sophie Martinez, a sophomore, is a participant of the DACA program and she explained how upset she was with the decision of this program being cancelled.

She stated “I moved here from Guatemala when I was two years old but I don’t even speak Spanish and I really don’t even know much about Guatemala so I couldn’t even imagine what it would be like to have to move back to a country that I really know nothing about.” She also shared that she was having such bad anxiety she would have trouble sleeping at night thinking about what could happen.

“It gives me anxiety just thinking about it, I could really lose everything I’ve worked my whole life for.”, she said.

CSUB junior, Michael Morton, said his friends are worried. Michael is an American citizen but says he understands how hard it is for everyone who is undocumented right now. “Two of my best friends are immigrants and part of DACA.”, he said. Morton also stated, “my girlfriend is part of the DACA program, I feel for them so much right now, I see them being worried over this and I wish they wouldn’t ever have to worry about something like this.”

DACA program assists students in many ways. A lot of people will lose friends and loved ones and people will lose opportunities’ that they have been working their whole life for. CSUB made their part in trying to make sure the program stays in-tact and has made workshops and other things to help students who are part of the DACA program.

 

Leave a comment